It has been known since the Nintendo Switch reveal that more information on the release date, launch titles and specs will be coming on January 13th, 2017. In a statement from Nintendo, it has now been confirmed that there will be a Nintendo Switch livestream straight from Tokyo at 1pm Japan-time. January 13th at 13:00. 13 launch titles perhaps? One can dream. The 1pm reveal means our US readers will only have to stay up a little past their bedtimes on the 12th of January to watch live (8pm PST/11pm EST), while those in the UK will have to be getting up at a very early, but still manageable, 4am GMT.

It looks like Nintendo have been able to ensure as many people as possible will be able to watch the steamed event, as I’m sure many of you will. If you plan on watching the whole thing live, details were provided by Nintendo on where to do so: “To tune in, visit http://www.nintendo.co.uk/switch on Friday, 13 January to hear about new Nintendo Switch details you won’t want to miss!” Let’s hope the site will be able to deal with what will inevitably be a flood of traffic.

Join Gamer Professionals on the day for the Nintendo Switch livestream as we report everything that comes out of one of Nintendo’s biggest events!