SEGA 3D Classics Collection Announced for 3DS


SEGA is the latest company to join the ‘classic collection’ bandwagon, with the announcement of their upcoming SEGA 3D Classics Collection made via Twitter today. This comes following CAPCOM’s Megaman Legacy Collection, Nintendo’s NES Remix, Rare’s Rare Replay, and a handful of others.

The SEGA 3D Classics Collection brings together nine 3D-enhanced titles from SEGA’s extensive catalogue. Seven of the nine have seen standalone releases via the 3DS eShop, but the remaining two serve as exclusive releases for this collection. The titles included are as follows:

  • Power Drift
  • Puyo Puyo 2
  • Maze Walker
  • Fantasy Zone II: The Tears of Opa-Opa
  • Fantasy Zone II W (described as an update to the original Fantasy Zone II)
  • Sonic the Hedgehog
  • Thunder Blade
  • Galaxy Force II
  • Altered Beast


While not an extensive collection from SEGA’s golden age, there are some nifty titles included. The SEGA 3D Classics Collection stands as an easy way to access some previously eShop exclusive titles, as well as dig into SEGA’s rather intimidating catalogue. It is set for release on April 26, exclusively for the Nintendo 3DS, with the price point set at $29.99. For more information, head on over to the official 3D Classics Collection website.

Comments are closed.